academicappetite

Just another WordPress.com site

Summer Season

on May 10, 2012

SO, i’m not sure if you’ll all continue to read my blog. But i’m gonna continue to write even though its not for a grade anymore. I guess this class actually influenced my relationship with food more than i thought it did.

So far this summer (which has been less than a week) i’ve steamed my own vegetables twice and made a new vegetable. The class taught me about eating local, fresh and in season. In that spirit, I bought two pounds of fresh green beans, which are freshest and cheapest in April and May. I steamed a pound at a time, each of which gave me 3 servings. They turned out DELICIOUS!

Then tonight, i made myself some asparagus! I put some vegetable oil in a pan and cooked a bunch of fresh asparagus. I also made some Hollandaise sauce to top it. It was a bit too lemony for my taste, but the asparagus was pretty good!

I’ve eaten significantly less meat than i did at school, although i can’t bring myself to cut it out completely. But tonight, my dinner was veggetarian. 🙂 Impressed?? Here’s my veggetarian dinner: Freshly steamed green beans (without the tops and tails), asparagus, 2 pieces of butter bread, and velveeta “cheese”.

 

 

Leave a Reply

